Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

This is a place for people to chare the custom macros they have written.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 23 Nov 2016, 04:27

Is it possible to check specific any buttons pressed or not in custom macro??

Like below conditional statement.
----------------------------------------
if "A button" is pressed
Release "A button"
else
Do nothing.
end if
User avatar
yyy898
Posts: 127
Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 17:52

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby yyy898 » 23 Nov 2016, 11:05

kimwida wrote:Is it possible to check specific any buttons pressed or not in custom macro??

Like below conditional statement.
----------------------------------------
if "A button" is pressed
Release "A button"
else
Do nothing.
end if


not possible, though i already did a feature request for that and for the option to have variables in macro's.
To do this avo needs to be comand line based and it isn't at the moment so i think it can take a long time before they implement it
User avatar
Gregory
Site Admin
Posts: 1134
Joined: 14 Dec 2007, 15:25
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby Gregory » 23 Nov 2016, 18:46

It is possible to have conditional statements in macros however I don't think there is a way to determine whether a button is pressed. What is it that you are wanting to achieve as there may be another way of going about it?
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 24 Nov 2016, 00:01

In my club, I have 8 moving heads and 8 LED Pars.

I have two master dimmer playback buttons which have only intensity 100%.

(I prefer buttons to faders cause I am using Titan one with my mouse.)

In my club, most of time I busk the shows.

So it is very convenient and flexible to make most of my palettes, cues and chases without intensity.

Recently I wanted to program random blank chase(I don't know it is correctly expressed.)

Like this. ("x" means no light. "o" means with any color light.)

oxxo xoxo -> xoxx ooxo -> xoxx ooox -> ooox xxox
xoxx ooox -> ooox xoxo -> xxox oxxo -> oxoo oxox

I also want it to be flexible with my palettes and cues.

But I couldn't make it possible with two master playback buttons to be pressed.

Actually, I made a chase that make it possible.

But it only works when two master playback buttons are not pressed.

Using macro can simply solve it. So I need to check the buttons pressed or not.

Anyway, is it possible to make the chase while two master playback buttons are pressed??

If it is possible, I prefer it!!!
===========================================================
Anyway, I solved it with cue release of the chase.
Last edited by kimwida on 03 Dec 2016, 15:56, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
yyy898
Posts: 127
Joined: 28 Jun 2014, 17:52

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby yyy898 » 28 Nov 2016, 10:35

Gregory wrote:It is possible to have conditional statements in macros however I don't think there is a way to determine whether a button is pressed. What is it that you are wanting to achieve as there may be another way of going about it?


didn't know that, can you send an example of a macro with conditional statements and explain
icke_siegen
Posts: 904
Joined: 02 Jul 2010, 10:29
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby icke_siegen » 05 Dec 2016, 16:36

Honestly I am still struggling to understand your question. I assume it is regarding HTP: as long as playbacks are active which set the fixtures' dimmer at full, any dimmer chaser will have no effect since dimmer is HTP (and thus the static playback 'wins').

There are some approaches to make it happen:
- use shapes - because even dimmer shapes are (partly) LTP, and would reduce the 100% playback
- maybe even a keyframe shape could help you out
- instead of a dimmer chaser, program this as chaser on the shutter channel, possibly including 'Release Cue'
- instead of a dimmer chaser, program this as chaser on the RGB channels ('Black'), possibly including 'Release Cue'

This being said, I can't think of a suitable way to query the 'pressed/not pressed' state of a button, or the 'active/not active' state of a specific playback. (I'd be happy if Olie/Nic/Greg would correct me if I'm wrong).
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4218
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby niclights » 05 Dec 2016, 17:45

icke_siegen wrote:Honestly I am still struggling to understand your question. I assume it is regarding HTP: as long as playbacks are active which set the fixtures' dimmer at full, any dimmer chaser will have no effect since dimmer is HTP (and thus the static playback 'wins').

There are some approaches to make it happen:
- use shapes - because even dimmer shapes are (partly) LTP, and would reduce the 100% playback
- maybe even a keyframe shape could help you out
- instead of a dimmer chaser, program this as chaser on the shutter channel, possibly including 'Release Cue'
- instead of a dimmer chaser, program this as chaser on the RGB channels ('Black'), possibly including 'Release Cue'

This being said, I can't think of a suitable way to query the 'pressed/not pressed' state of a button, or the 'active/not active' state of a specific playback. (I'd be happy if Olie/Nic/Greg would correct me if I'm wrong).


I might be wrong but I think the original reason for the OP's question here was that he was trying to have a chase that worked over the top of a static look but retained the base colour. One way to do this should be by programming RGB at zero for the 'off' steps and empty steps for on with cue release set to on as per your last suggestion but I think there was a separate thread where this wasn't working. Unfortunatley I have not had a chance to test but it looks like one way or another this was resolved given the "Anyway, I solved it with cue release of the chase." (presumably the edit on 3/12/16).
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 07 Dec 2016, 10:26

I just knew Titan four months ago and never get lighting education before.

So my question may get you wrong because of my lack of lighting knowledge.

So please understand me and just let me know if there's standard or better way.

Anyway, what nic said is exactly what I want.

And like icke_siegen said, I programmed this as chaser on the RGB channels 0% with 'Release Cue'

It looks like working well with my color chase but it looks awkward because there's little snap change of colors.

For your understanding.

First chase. Step 1: RGB channels are 0%. Step 2: Empty cue. And set cue release "On" and chase speed to 2 second.

Second chase. Step 1: RGB 100%, 0%, 0%, Step 2: RGB 0%, 100%, 0% Step 3: RGB 0%, 0%, 100%. And set chase speed to 1.2 second.

Start first chase and then second one. A few seconds later, you can see the problem.

So far I don't know why.
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4218
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby niclights » 07 Dec 2016, 18:27

When I try this the result is as I would expect. I'm not sure what you were trying to achieve.

The colour channels are latest takes precedence and both chases involve the colour channels of the same fixture. Whenever a step of either chase is fired the colour values will change to those in that step until the next step with colour information is fired. Since the two chases are running at different speeds there will inevitably be occasions when a colour from chase 2 is only there for a very short duration before the black from chase 1 takes priority. Is that the problem you are describing?

My understanding of the requirement was that you might have an intensity master along with some colour palettes for a number of RGB fixtures where you want to be able to leave the intensity at full, choose colours from the palettes and also have an option to run a 'black' chase over the top.
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 08 Dec 2016, 01:37

Thank you so much!!

And yes, right. I use intensity master with a cue.

Now I understand the problem. I just mistook RGB 0% for intensity.

The concepts of HTP and LTP are confusing to me.

So it's impossible and I have to make every chase one by one, right??

Maybe, macros helps here in some other ways. I will think about it.

Anyway, thank you all, I learned a lot from this post.
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4218
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby niclights » 08 Dec 2016, 10:34

If we are all talking about the same thing then it is not impossible and should work as described above.

Example:

- New Show
- Patch 4x Par 64 LED, RGB 8bit, 3 DMX with palettes on workspaces enabled
- Open Capture
- Select all fixtures, set intensity at full and record by channel to playback fader 1
- Clear
- Fire cue
- Start recording chase on playback fader 2
- Select fixtures 2,3 and 4
- Ensure RGB are in the programmer at zero
- Record step 1
- Clear
- Select fixtures 1,3 and 4
- Ensure RGB are in the programmer at zero
- Record step 2
- Clear
- Select fixtures 1, 2 and 4
- Ensure RGB are in the programmer at zero
- Record step 3
- Clear
- Select fixtures 1,2 and 3
- Ensure RGB are in the programmer at zero
- Record step 4
- Clear
- Exit
- [Playback Options]
- <select playback 2>
- [Release]
- [Cue Release On]
- [Release Mask] [Source Local] [Colour Include]
- Exit
- Connect to playback 2 and wheel xfade to 0%

You should now have two playbacks, one that masters intensity and one that fires a 'black' chase where the base colour can be changed independently. The only problem with this is that when you fire a colour palette or playback to select colour it will take over any black cues from the chase and output until the chase reaches the next black step. Also adjustment directly in the programmer will take control unless the black chase playback is set to a higher priority.

Usually you would do this by creating an intensity chase and adjust the level of the 'all intensity' playback to reveal/overlay the chase. This allows colour interaction without the LTP issues above.
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 08 Dec 2016, 15:06

Yes, this is what I exactly programmed later.

Like I said before, this 'black' chase is little bit awkward when I use it in busking.

1.Set the 'black' chase's speed to 4 second and Xfade to 100%.
2.Set the 'black' chase's priority to high or programmer.
2.Fire playback 1 and 'black' chase.
3.Set pallet time to 1 second.
4.Fire red palette.
5.Fire blue palette when red color is growing.
(Keep step 5 with other color palettes. )

Sometimes, it doesn't fade in blue.
After red color reach to the maximum, it just go snap to blue and fade out blue. :? :? :?

If I set the 'black' chase's priority to normal and fire any palette,
it fade in perfectly in any time but it is not what I want. :cry: :cry: :cry:
I want smooth fade in color with high priority at any moment.
Is it possible??
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4218
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby niclights » 08 Dec 2016, 16:03

I think one way or another the behaviour you are seeing is due to LTP rules.

How about one of the alternatives that Sebastian suggested - ie. a dimmer keyframe shape, dimmer shape or shutter chase (if the fixture has a separate shutter control)?
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Checking button pressed or not in custom macro

Postby kimwida » 08 Dec 2016, 17:02

Ok. I will try other way.

Anyway, I really appreciate your reply, nic. :D :D :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests