Pearl 2000 with Visualizer - Commands go crazy!!

Welcome to the Avolites Visualiser Discussion Forum.

Moderator: Moderators

LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Pearl 2000 with Visualizer - Commands go crazy!!

Postby LordNikon » 21 Apr 2007, 00:14

hi all!! :D

first of all sorry for my bad english :wink:

i have a pearl 2000 upgraded with 2004 software

i made my own com->midi in/out cable, i've tested it following istructions in the .doc file, it works ok

i tested my console with a midi cable watching the midi in/out screen log in the console... it works ok

tested connection from console to pc with vis... it works ok :shock:

so.. i try to explain the problem using examples:

i patch a moving light, and then i select pan/tilt and move them with jogs,

when i rotate the pan jog, tilt goes crazy! if i move only pan, tilt change in crazy mode, it goes from 100 to 35 to 0 etc.. and viceversa

same thing for all parameters, when i change iris, focus go crazy and viceversa...

understand the problem? i hope yes :cry:

it seems to be a sync problem, but all tests are right!

i hope that someone can help me! please :D bye! :wink:
User avatar
iadwm
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 16:24
Location: Southend on Sea, UK
Contact:

Postby iadwm » 21 Apr 2007, 02:08

Hi...

You don't say if you've tried patching any other fixtures...have you tried something simple like a generic (single dimmer channel)?

Check you have matching fixtures patched on the desk and Vis.

Does the problem occur on every fixture you try? If it does, then it could be a corrupted personalities and/or extensions file. Try downloading the most recent.

HTH

Regards,

Andy
"It's the prospect of hearing something that you could never have dreamed existed"
John Peel

www.iadwm.com
LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Postby LordNikon » 22 Apr 2007, 02:08

thx for your reply!

i've tried to patch with different fixtures, and my personalities are just recently downloaded :cry:

anyway, isn't possible that it is the problem, because channels doesn't go crazy with criteria, but differently any time i change their value!

it's possible a mistake in the cable? like two wires wong welded?

or a configuration problem of my com port? it is set to 38400 baud rate 8bit, no parity, 1bit stop... it's the right configuration?

thx for your help! :D bye! :wink:
User avatar
iadwm
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 16:24
Location: Southend on Sea, UK
Contact:

Postby iadwm » 23 Apr 2007, 16:59

Are you using ACDI?

If not, give that a try...

http://www.avolitesdownload.com/Downloads/ACDI.stm

and double check your pinouts, although if all the tests show good comms, I don't think it's a cable problem.

Andy
"It's the prospect of hearing something that you could never have dreamed existed"

John Peel



www.iadwm.com
LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Postby LordNikon » 26 Apr 2007, 19:30

hi!

i've tried with acdi e without it on visualizer... the problem persist :cry:

same double check the cable...

it's possible that the problem is the software version? my pearl have the 1.1

however i've not upgrade it because it runs ok! upgrading to 1.2 can i solve the problem??

thx very much for your replies! let me now please :wink:

bye!
User avatar
iadwm
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 16:24
Location: Southend on Sea, UK
Contact:

Postby iadwm » 26 Apr 2007, 20:14

Well there aren't that many things left to try!

So give it a go...

(I had assumed your desk was running the current software).

You didn't say if you had tried a single channel generic? It would be interesting to know if this works or not.

The Generic fixture is patched from the Moving Head menu.

Regards,

Andy
"It's the prospect of hearing something that you could never have dreamed existed"

John Peel



www.iadwm.com
LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Postby LordNikon » 28 Apr 2007, 13:43

DAMN!!! i've upgraded to 1.2 firmware... and solve the problem :D

anyway thank you for your help and patience :wink:

good work! bye :D
LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Postby LordNikon » 28 Apr 2007, 14:24

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! the problem persist :cry:

just the first moving light working right.... now is the same... i've just tried patching a single dimmer channel and the problem still remain...

i don't know what to try.... :cry:
User avatar
iadwm
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2004, 16:24
Location: Southend on Sea, UK
Contact:

Postby iadwm » 29 Apr 2007, 15:54

Sorry, I can't think of anything else practical to try...

Have you been using the same fixture all the time? Have you tried something common and well used like a MAC500?

It's interesting (and must mean something - although I'm at a loss as to what exactly!) that the first fixture started behaving correctly AFTER you updated the software. Has this been repeatable with other fixtures?
What version is your Pearl (motherboard type)?

It may time to go direct to Avo and reference your posts here, so they can see what you've tried and results.

If Olie is watching this...any thoughts oh mighty one?

Regards,

Andy
"It's the prospect of hearing something that you could never have dreamed existed"

John Peel



www.iadwm.com
LordNikon
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2007, 23:58

Postby LordNikon » 30 Apr 2007, 13:12

hi!

yes i've tried the first and works right, then added 5 spot in vis, patched in the console, and the problem come back! :cry:

now i let remake the cable by a friend (i'm not the best soldering)... it's possibile that the transistor is damaged... :shock:

i've already tried other fixture, like mac500,smg giotto spot400, single dimmer channel!

the great thing is that this problem appear only using the jogs, because using the shape generator fixture moving right in visualizer!

and i know that jogs are not broken because disconnetting midi, they works right!

what you mean with "go directly to avo"? :D

my pearl is a 2000 (i suppose with boris1 m/b, it haven't querty connector) updated with 2004 1.2 software

bye!! thank you! :wink:
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4303
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 30 Apr 2007, 13:48

what you mean with "go directly to avo"?


Contact them via email or phone.
chaos john
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Jan 2008, 18:28

Postby chaos john » 21 Jan 2008, 18:50

was wandering if you got the problem fixed,
im having the same problem any ideas of a fix,

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests