.VIS files do not seem to work fully

Welcome to the Avolites Visualiser Discussion Forum.

Moderator: Moderators

rwg42985
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Mar 2013, 06:47

.VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby rwg42985 » 23 Mar 2013, 08:04

Hello, I have been playing with the visualizer and simulator for the last 2 weeks. I thought i could figure it out, i even managed to get our generic R,G,B,W lights working with the 3 colors and the white using 15 degrees offset... 2 overlapped fixtures on on the same Chanel. This basically fixed the 3 color problem. I now have a 4 color light in the VIS...

so, with this dedication I'm finally coming for help.

all the lights are generic Chinese and i can not get the vis to work with the robots. I'm using a MHLED60D.

The personality files were constructed by manually. I was able to import them in to the personality builder and export the .R20 and .VIS files.

The only thing i can get working is the pan/tilt. the rest of the functions do not work.

can you please advise some help with the .vis files.

i have attached the files here on the post.

here is a quick look at the Channels :

Image

thank you!!!! ~Russ Gries
Attachments
MHLED60D.zip
(3.36 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
rwg42985
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Mar 2013, 06:47

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby rwg42985 » 23 Mar 2013, 08:20

attached is more details of the fixture

this is a XPS Document (.xps)

the only way i could get it extracted and uploaded to the forums. ( pdf was to big)

thanks, ~Russ Gries
Attachments
Mhled60d detials.zip
(79.68 KiB) Downloaded 233 times
icke_siegen
Posts: 1089
Joined: 02 Jul 2010, 10:29
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby icke_siegen » 24 Mar 2013, 17:57

Seems the problem is in your Vis file. See this section:

Code: Select all

// Color Wheel
ChanRef Color Wheel 1
    Vismode Value
    UseBits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    DmxOffset 6
    Mapping 0 16 Black
    Mapping 17 33 Black
    Mapping 34 50 Black
    Mapping 51 67 Black
    Mapping 68 84 Black
    Mapping 85 101 Black
    Mapping 102 118 Black
    Mapping 119 135 Black
    Mapping 136 152 Black
    Mapping 153 255 Black
End


If you replace the 'Black' with other valid colour names, probably it will work.
rwg42985
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Mar 2013, 06:47

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby rwg42985 » 25 Mar 2013, 00:56

Thanks for the reply. I did already try this with no luck.

any other thoughts?

~Russ
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4443
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby niclights » 25 Mar 2013, 02:29

That is all you need to do.

It should look something like this:

Code: Select all

// Color Wheel
ChanRef Color Wheel 1
    Vismode Value
    UseBits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    DmxOffset 6
    Mapping 0 16 White
    Mapping 17 33 Red
    Mapping 34 50 Yellow
    Mapping 51 67 Magenta
    Mapping 68 84 Green
    Mapping 85 101 Orange
    Mapping 102 118 Blue
    Mapping 119 135 RGB0,120,240
    Mapping 136 152 RGB0,240,120
    Mapping 153 255 White
End


Note that the r20 file must be placed in the visualiser/personalities folder. The Vis application must be restarted to see any changes to files and fixtures need to be repatched.
rwg42985
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Mar 2013, 06:47

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby rwg42985 » 25 Mar 2013, 03:48

thanks for the reply. I added the colors,

It now looks like this:

Code: Select all

// Color Wheel
ChanRef Color Wheel 1
    Vismode Value
    UseBits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    DmxOffset 6
    Mapping 0 16 White
    Mapping 17 33 Red
    Mapping 34 50 Blue
    Mapping 51 67 Yellow
    Mapping 68 84 Green
    Mapping 85 101 Pink
    Mapping 102 118 Orange
    Mapping 119 135 Light Blue
    Mapping 136 152 Lavender
    Mapping 153 255 Rainbow
End


one thing i did figure out was that the strobe was part of the problem.

Code: Select all

// Strobe
ChanRef Dimmer
    Vismode Strobe
    UseBits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    DmxOffset 13
    Mapping 0 31 0 0
    Mapping 32 63 1 1
    Mapping 64 95 30 300
    Mapping 96 127 1 1
    Mapping 128 159 30 300
    Mapping 160 191 1 1
    Mapping 192 223 30 300
    Mapping 224 255 1 1
End


so i had to set it above 31 before it would work.

so i now have the colors working. with the strobe turned on The only one that is not working is Rainbow. It just shows up as white?

Thanks for your help

~Russ
icke_siegen
Posts: 1089
Joined: 02 Jul 2010, 10:29
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby icke_siegen » 25 Mar 2013, 10:08

For the rainbow you would need a section like

Code: Select all

ChanRef Color Wheel 1
    Vismode Speed
    UseBits 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    DmxOffset 6
    Mapping 153 255 0.000000 120.000000
End


and you need to remove the line

Code: Select all

Mapping 153 255 Rainbow

from the Color Wheel Section/Vismode Value.

The difference is the Vismode: speed takes a number for 'revolutions per minute'. You may find all those definitions in the manual at http://www.avolites.com/Portals/0/Downl ... Manual.pdf

As for the Strobe, the personalities reflect the dmx layout in the manual. Maybe you should set the locate value of the strobe channel to 'Open' in the d4 file.
rwg42985
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Mar 2013, 06:47

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby rwg42985 » 25 Mar 2013, 11:35

got it,

now i have a lot more stuff not working... I'm willing to figure it out but is there a manual where i can see what each gobo looks like?

so for instance, a picture and a term so i can add the correct goboes with light i have?

right now there just random and not correct with my real goboes. although they do work... its not very helpful... i would like them to match.

the viswiz manual will help! thanks.

~Russ
icke_siegen
Posts: 1089
Joined: 02 Jul 2010, 10:29
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Re: .VIS files do not seem to work fully

Postby icke_siegen » 25 Mar 2013, 11:56

http://www.avolites.com/Portals/0/Downl ... 20Info.pdf

You'll find the gobo thing has very limited functionality. That's why usually we use 'Number One', 'Number Two' and so forth. If i remember corectly, some folks have posted some gobo info here in the forum some years ago.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests