Page 1 of 2

T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 25 Oct 2019, 19:27
by s.schroeders
Hello everybody !

I bought a T2 and I would like to use a midi controler to control the fader and the button "flash".
I have a Korg nanoKontrol 2and it's ok for fader control.
I can control the Titan Suite Fader with the fader on my Midi Controller.

It's fine too to configure and trig my Midi Button for flash button.

But on some of my chase on the Titan Suite I use the flash button as a tap tempo.
And when I use my Midi Controller configured to that flash button the Tempo goes to 3600BPM and I cannot really tap the tempo.

I cannot find which configuration to change.

Could you help me ?

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 26 Oct 2019, 11:17
by Gregory
Is your trigger set to item or hardware?

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 26 Oct 2019, 13:43
by s.schroeders
I tried both.
And I want it to work on "hardware".

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 22 Nov 2019, 18:53
by s.schroeders
Could you help me ?

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 26 Nov 2019, 00:35
by Gregory
Unfortunately it does not appear to be possible to do this directly from a trigger as the trigger does not include the necessary timing information. One option would be to use the Tap Tempo factory macro which will work on whatever is currently connected (you can find this in the Show Library) and setup a trigger for that macro. Alternatively you could write your own custom macro that will run the Tap Tempo function on a playback of your choice regardless of whether it is connected:

Code: Select all

Playbacks.TapTempo(userNumber:2, Math.GetCurrentTimeStamp())
More information about macros can be found on the macro section of the forum.

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 26 Nov 2019, 14:36
by sideshowbond
more infos about macros for masters can be found here as well
https://www.avolites.de/wiki/macros:example:tapbpmmasters

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 10 Dec 2019, 19:44
by s.schroeders
Thank you for your help.

It's now working well !!

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 11 Dec 2019, 22:47
by djsky
Can I jump in here and ask, is there a way to have the “tap” button also send out a dmx signal?

Basically I want to tap the tempo on my Titan mobile and also use this tap to set the tempo on resolume arena. So I’d need a 0-255 change on each tap on a single dmx channel.

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 11:29
by Mumblist
Hi did you ever find away to send out a dmx signal from tap tempo in the end?

Kind regards Tristan

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:11
by icke_siegen
Mumblist wrote:Hi did you ever find away to send out a dmx signal from tap tempo in the end?


I would say this is just a question to extend the macro so that it also flashes a certain playback. Then you just need to program this playback so that it flashes a particular channel (just use a generic dimmer). I'd believe the most important details are to chose the correct MIDI control mode as well as the key profile of the button with the macro (you need to assign this macro to a button and then trigger this as hardware).

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:15
by djsky
And how does one “extend the macro”?

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:18
by icke_siegen
djsky wrote:And how does one “extend the macro”?


By adding the relevant commands with a text editor me thinks :D

I'll have a look and post it here, okay?

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:21
by djsky
That’ll be great cheers…. I’ve never edited the macros, so might need a bit of guidance…. Am using a Titan Mobile so not an issue getting to files etc.

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:52
by icke_siegen

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<avolites.macros>

<!--
   from http://forum.avolites.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6293&p=24354#p24353
   tap a master, and also send DMX by firing a playback
   details for tapping masters: http://forum.avolites.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6293&p=24354#p24353
   details for flashing a playback: https://www.avolites.de/wiki/macros/example/fireflashplaybacks
   
   Usage:
    - move this macro to a suitable handle, e.g. in the playbacks window (make sure to MOVE it - copy doesn't work here)
    - patch a dimmer to the channel which you want to send to e.g. Resolume
    - set this dimmer to full, program a playback, Clear, give this playback User Number 901
    - create a trigger which fires the playback button you have copied the macro to
-->

  <macro id="Avolites.Macros.TapBPM1AndFlash" name="Tap BPM 1 and Flash PB 901">
    <start>
      <step>Masters.TapTempo(1612, Math.GetCurrentTimeStamp())</step>
     <step>Playbacks.FlashPlayback("cueHandleUN=901")</step>
    </start>
   <end>
     <step>Playbacks.ClearFlashPlayback("cueHandleUN=901")</step>   
   </end>
  </macro>
 
</avolites.macros>

Re: T2 - Midi button for Tap Tempo

Posted: 30 Mar 2023, 12:53
by icke_siegen
tapAndFlash.xml
(1.11 KiB) Downloaded 951 times