the differents between Grand MA light and Pearl 2004

Questions or discussions about the Titan and classic consoles and software.

Moderator: Moderators

rene

the differents between Grand MA light and Pearl 2004

Postby rene » 31 Jul 2006, 18:00

Hello,

I have a question.

I'm looking for a new table. I found the Pearl 2004, but also a friend told my about the Grand MA light version.

I don't know the differents and I do'nt know wich table is the best either?

Can someone help me?

I will the best table for me!

I'm looking forward to a reply of someone!

kind regards

Rene
Low_ID

Postby Low_ID » 01 Aug 2006, 12:00

:arrow:
Last edited by Low_ID on 17 Aug 2006, 21:41, edited 1 time in total.
Low_ID
neil

Postby neil » 01 Aug 2006, 19:36

As most of you know, I am an MA programmer too......

What does the Pearl do that the MA doesn't? NOTHING.

What does the MA do that a Pearl doesn't? Everything and much more.

Differences:

* Price; Pearl £8000, MA Light £1200 (the Ultralight is £8000).

* DMX Expandability; the GrandMA Light can be expanded to 8 universes for about £1700 extra, and you can have upto 64 universes of it via NSPs.

* Fixture control. The avo desks rely on faders for generics and buttons for movers. On the MA Light, you can pick up your fixtures in the same way you would a pearl with faders, or you can type in the fixture number (like on a strand), or you can use the Layout View and view where the fixtures are on stage, and touch the fixtures.

* Submasters the MA Light has 10 motorised + 20 buttons, the pearl has 15 faders.

* Theatre stack the MA will do a simular theatre stack to the Strand or Hog II, shove the stack on one fader. Theres a GO button to activate the stack, you can for example put your theatre stack on fader 1 and have the other 9 as 'playbacks' like you would in a gig.

* Screens, the Pearl has a very small one plus one external. The MA Light has 1 internal touchscreen (with 6 viewing Macros) and 2 external monitors.