Titan midi controller

Questions or discussions about the Titan and classic consoles and software.

Moderator: Moderators

sultahan
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Oct 2014, 06:05

Titan midi controller

Postby sultahan » 01 Mar 2018, 17:17

I want to connect the titan mobile midi control unit. behringer bcf 2000 is suitable for this. which product you recommend me. fader midi controller.thank’s.
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby kimwida » 01 Mar 2018, 18:43

Just curious.
Why do you need fader?? Mobile have already faders.
You can use only physical 10 faders in mobile. Am I wrong??
I think launch pad MK2 is much better. It has more buttons and they are colorful.
sultahan
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Oct 2014, 06:05

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby sultahan » 03 Mar 2018, 20:46

kimwida wrote:Just curious.
Why do you need fader?? Mobile have already faders.
You can use only physical 10 faders in mobile. Am I wrong??
I think launch pad MK2 is much better. It has more buttons and they are colorful.


You are right. but 10 faders are not enough for me. because I use media server and pixel mapping with light. do you have a midi controller that you can suggest to me?
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby kimwida » 05 Mar 2018, 18:08

AKAI APC mini (+ Launch Pad MK2)
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4218
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby niclights » 05 Mar 2018, 18:14

kimwida wrote:AKAI APC mini (+ Launch Pad MK2)


I don't think those will work. As far as I know they are Usb only. Currently Titan only supports MIDI triggers via the MIDI connectors.
danhoff
Posts: 36
Joined: 04 Oct 2014, 23:35

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby danhoff » 05 Mar 2018, 18:19

sultahan
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Oct 2014, 06:05

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby sultahan » 05 Mar 2018, 18:36



Do you use this device? If you use it, can you share some information?
danhoff
Posts: 36
Joined: 04 Oct 2014, 23:35

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby danhoff » 05 Mar 2018, 18:47

Yup, I have one and use it all the time, and have used it with Titan Mobile and both the Akai MPK Mini and Launchpad. What do you want to know?
sultahan
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Oct 2014, 06:05

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby sultahan » 05 Mar 2018, 20:28

danhoff wrote:Yup, I have one and use it all the time, and have used it with Titan Mobile and both the Akai MPK Mini and Launchpad. What do you want to know?


If I take it, for example, I can not run the akai apc 40 or any other person?
danhoff
Posts: 36
Joined: 04 Oct 2014, 23:35

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby danhoff » 05 Mar 2018, 21:01

The Mio4 will act as a USB host, so that you can use any USB-MIDI device and the Mio4 will send the MIDI stream out the 5-pin DIN connector, into your Titan Mobile.

The APC40, being designed specifically to control Ableton, has some additional features for that software, but it still sends out regular MIDI messages, so I don't see any reason it wouldn't work with Titan.
User avatar
chien0721
Posts: 45
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 10:17

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby chien0721 » 20 May 2018, 13:15

kimwida wrote:AKAI APC mini (+ Launch Pad MK2)


i am kind of curious. have you tried akai apc mini on avolites yourselves? Does it work?
Because I have heard some of my friends say that these kinds of device are designated for ableton and might need some sort of signal translator (i am not sure what is the name of device) to controller lighting software, at least on GrandMA.
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby kimwida » 20 May 2018, 20:50

Yes, as danhoff explained very well and many people use them, titan mobile have midi port and titan support midi trigger in system menu.
So you can use any midi device with avolites consoles except titan one.
And Grand MA need some midi translator to use midi device's faders because Grand MA doesn't understand cc midi code not the device are designated for ableton.
Avolites consoles not support usb midi device so you need something like mio4 to use usb midi device like apc mini.
Mars3110
Posts: 52
Joined: 30 May 2013, 19:41
Location: Switzerland

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby Mars3110 » 21 May 2018, 10:28

kimwida wrote:I think launch pad MK2 is much better. It has more buttons and they are colorful.


Hi ! I'm using a LaunchPad MK2 (with a Kenton USB MIDI) too… how do you get the buttons colours lit up ? By using MIDI out (so not compatible with Quartz and Mobile) and a bunch of macros ? Or do you have a much efficient way ?

Would be nice to use the colours of the LaunchPad. If only Titan was accepting USB MIDI and offering a simpler way of sending MIDI commands…
User avatar
kimwida
Posts: 215
Joined: 05 Aug 2016, 16:26
Location: Seoul

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby kimwida » 21 May 2018, 13:13

There are many ways to light launch pad MK2. I am using MIDI-OX to send sysEx just for one shot color set.
Generally, if you send midi code(color) to each button by channel 1, your MK2 buttons will light with the specific colors.
Even you can make them blink.

For example this macro will light left bottom button to red. (Your launch Pad MK2 must be in session mode which use midi channel 1.)

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<avolites.macros>
  <macro id="Test_Midi">
    <name>Test Midi</name>
    <sequence>
     <step pause="0.01">Panel.Midi.NoteOn(1, 11, 5)</step>
    </sequence>
  </macro>
</avolites.macros>


For more information, you have to read "launchpad mk2 programmers reference guide".
After read the manual, adding more code lines, you will light your pad buttons color like you want.
Mars3110
Posts: 52
Joined: 30 May 2013, 19:41
Location: Switzerland

Re: Titan midi controller

Postby Mars3110 » 21 May 2018, 13:57

Ok thanks. I've already read the programmer manual for the launchpad.

So there is no way of lighting it without having a console with midi out and long macros (which I already successfully did).

And with MIDI-OX you need a computer between the launchpad and the console and I don't want that…

I already tried to find any info about this unsuccessfully, but maybe you would have a solution : is it possible to store a one shot colour set IN the launchpad so no need of sending commands each time we turn on the launchpad ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests