Personality file editing

Questions or discussions about the Titan and classic consoles and software.

Moderator: Moderators

bellamy
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 01:05
Location: Norway

Personality file editing

Postby bellamy » 09 May 2006, 21:00

Is it possible to edit personality files, and how can this be done? I'd like to change the preset palettes and add legends.

EDIT after some research: OK, guess I can try programming it in notepad, but I don't quite understand everything in the code.
How about creating some kind of tool for this?
CoenCo
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Feb 2005, 20:55

Postby CoenCo » 09 May 2006, 22:35

There is no tool for editing personality files. Just try to wrap your head around how the files work. Read the manual, it gives some help on it too.
Just remember that all values you add for presets are supposed to be in HEX. thats a range that goes from 00 to FF for 0-255 or 0-100%
bellamy
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 01:05
Location: Norway

Postby bellamy » 10 May 2006, 05:10

Er... :shock: Is this what you're talking about???
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hexadecimal
Ed
Posts: 50
Joined: 23 Aug 2005, 11:12
Contact:

Postby Ed » 10 May 2006, 09:30

dont panic!

You can use the calculator that is built into Windows to do all of your decimal to hexadecimal conversions.

Click [start] > [run...] and then type in "calc" and then enter. This will load up the windows calculator.

In the calculator you will then need to click on [view] and then select [scientific]. This will, no suprises, put your calculator into scientific mode.

You can then punch in your desired value in decimal and then press the "Hex" radio button to convert the value. See the screenshots below:

Image
Image
Avolites Software Team
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4443
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 10 May 2006, 13:55

Nice to see that this is the official way! 8)
CoenCo
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Feb 2005, 20:55

Postby CoenCo » 10 May 2006, 15:01

or you can make a small spreadsheat.
Type all the values you need to convert in column A starting at row1
And fill out column B with "=dec2hex(A1)"

n.b. this formula is for the spreadsheat of openoffice, for excel it might be different
bellamy
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Nov 2005, 01:05
Location: Norway

Postby bellamy » 10 May 2006, 20:40

All right :D Got the range-tables sorted

Now, for the pftables:
In the file I'm editing: PFTABLE "Gobo2" -1 30
As far as I understand the table will now define the values for dmx channel 30. What throws me, is that my fix does not have 30 channels???
http://www.avolitesdownload.com/Persona ... ileID=2184

Also: Is it only possible to state one value for one dmx ch in these tables?
Example: I want a preset focus that sends col wheel 1 to red and col wheel 2 to open.
CoenCo
Posts: 120
Joined: 06 Feb 2005, 20:55

Postby CoenCo » 11 May 2006, 00:35

hmm
Not sure about that channel 30. But I think it is to disable that channel from the pallette.

2 paramaters in a single PFtable is easy, have a look at the pan/tilt values or those from a colormixing unit.
example: dual color wheel martin mac500

Code: Select all

; A color table for the colour wheel
PFTABLE "Color" -1   3   4
"Open"           1   0   0 
"Red"            2  1f   0
"Amber"          3  80  6f
"Yellow"         4   0  70
"Green"          5  40  50
"Cyan"           6   0  30
"Blue"           7  60  30
"Lavender"       8  5f  20
"U Violet"       9  40  40
"Magenta"       10  30   0 
PFEND

good luck
Vincent
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Mar 2004, 09:19

Postby Vincent » 11 May 2006, 07:48

bellamy wrote:Now, for the pftables:
In the file I'm editing: PFTABLE "Gobo2" -1 30
As far as I understand the table will now define the values for dmx channel 30. What throws me, is that my fix does not have 30 channels???
This is a typo. The value should be "13" instead of "30".
Ed
Posts: 50
Joined: 23 Aug 2005, 11:12
Contact:

Postby Ed » 11 May 2006, 09:42

Vincent wrote:
bellamy wrote:Now, for the pftables:
In the file I'm editing: PFTABLE "Gobo2" -1 30
As far as I understand the table will now define the values for dmx channel 30. What throws me, is that my fix does not have 30 channels???
This is a typo. The value should be "13" instead of "30".


Indeed, and it looks like its on the same swops as gobo1.

You can also tell a preset palette to appear on a wheel rather than on a set of swop buttons.

For example, in the data in the table below will tell the desk to show the lee table on the second page of attributes for colour and on the upper wheel:

Code: Select all

;INPUT      Cyan   yellow   magnta
PFTABLE "LEE" 29   6    7    8
"lee 101"   -1   A1   5B   D6
"lee 102"   -1   9E   6C   FF
"lee 103"   -1   DB   81   8E
"lee 104"   -1   FF   60   82
"lee 105"   -1   FE   52   62
"lee 106"   -1   85   23   2B
"lee 107"   -1   E5   86   70
"lee 108"   -1   E4   83   78
...etc


The "29" indicates the wheel number.

Take a look at this document. It is a list of the wheel numbers and which wheel it points to.
Avolites Software Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 33 guests