MIDI Output

Questions or discussions about the Titan and classic consoles and software.

Moderator: Moderators

bercic
Posts: 52
Joined: 03 Nov 2015, 14:18

MIDI Output

Postby bercic » 03 Nov 2015, 14:43

I have been working with avo for quite a lot now but still have some problems.
i work in theatre/musicals where we like to connect as much as possible between light sound and media(video) we are currently running qlab for Midi show control for scene switching on both avolites sapphire and the sound desk.

I have problems figuring out how to get avo to output midi commands. I was dissapointed RDM works only trough ART-net so please don't tell me Midi out does not work because hardware issues to..
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Re: MIDI Output

Postby Olie » 03 Nov 2015, 18:23

The only way to send MIDI from the console is with a custom macro. You can use the following macro xml as an example.

Code: Select all

<macro name="Midi Note On" id="Avolites.Macros.MidiNoteOn">
    <sequence>
      <step>Panel.Midi.NoteOn(0,9,9)</step>
      <step pause="0.1">Panel.Midi.NoteOff(0,9,9)</step>
    </sequence>
  </macro>

  <macro name="Midi Data" id="Avolites.Macros.MidiData">
    <sequence>
      <step>Panel.Midi.Send("04 05 06")</step>
    </sequence>
  </macro>


This will need to be added to a file that looks like the following.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<avolites.macros xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="Avolites.Menus.xsd">
   <macro name="Midi Note On" id="Avolites.Macros.MidiNoteOn">
    <sequence>
      <step>Panel.Midi.NoteOn(0,9,9)</step>
      <step pause="0.1">Panel.Midi.NoteOff(0,9,9)</step>
    </sequence>
  </macro>
</avolites.macros>


and save it to d:\TitanData\Macros\MidiMacros.xml

Once you have created and saved the file the macro will appear in show library after you restart the software.
Avolites Software Team
bercic
Posts: 52
Joined: 03 Nov 2015, 14:18

Re: MIDI Output

Postby bercic » 04 Nov 2015, 16:07

thank you good sir :)
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Re: MIDI Output

Postby Olie » 04 Nov 2015, 16:27

If I get a spare minute I will try and create a file with a load of NoteOn messages for you to just insert.
Avolites Software Team
bercic
Posts: 52
Joined: 03 Nov 2015, 14:18

Re: MIDI Output

Postby bercic » 06 Nov 2015, 13:09

is there a possibility to implement midi out in new titan software? in a way that you can connect midi out triggers with cues or cuelists?
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Re: MIDI Output

Postby Olie » 06 Nov 2015, 16:48

If you make sure the request is in the Feature Request sticky we will get to it. I can not tell you when it will happen.
Avolites Software Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests