User Curve on a Pearl 2000

Questions or discussions about the Titan and classic consoles and software.

Moderator: Moderators

Zydeco
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Oct 2004, 11:04

User Curve on a Pearl 2000

Postby Zydeco » 24 Jan 2005, 09:03

I want to change the user curve by myself on the Pearl.
I have a fix.sys file with me and changed the numbers and alphabets only, not 0s.
Then, I patched some dimmers and set the curve to user.
Moreover, I went to service → tests → Read Fix.Sys on System, so I should have done right, shouldn't I?
However, the Pearl does not seem changed, so I do not know what to do anymore.

Therefore, if anyone knows about it, please let me know how to set the user curve.

By the way, I read a manual and it said that I should use a file called UC.DAT. What kind of file is it?
I checked everywhere on the Pearl, but there was no such file I would be able to install.
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 24 Jan 2005, 21:23

I have never done this myself, but AFAIK you have to create a new file called UC.DAT.
Just a simple text file 256 lines long, each line being a number between 0 and 255.
Try that and see if it works.

I have no idea why it is under 'read FIX.SYS'. The explanation in the old manual was poor, but it is not even covered in the 2004 version. There is a reference to it from Patching, but mistakenly this actually refers you to WHEEL curves!
Zydeco
Posts: 14
Joined: 12 Oct 2004, 11:04

Postby Zydeco » 25 Jan 2005, 04:06

Where can I install the UC.DAT file from?
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Postby Olie » 25 Jan 2005, 11:58

I have added some help to the Pearl 2004 page on this subject.

http://www.avolitesdownload.com/Downloads/Pearl2004.stm

UC.DAT is the old user curve system and has been superceeded by Fix.sys.
Avolites Software Team
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Postby Olie » 26 Jan 2005, 14:32

I forgot to mention that you need to reset the desk after loading the Fix.sys file before the new settings will take effect.
Avolites Software Team
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 26 Jan 2005, 20:37

Nice table! Can you explain the purpose of High byte and Low byte?

PS: I wonder what happens if I have some values for other memory addresses..??? Only kidding!
User avatar
Olie
Site Admin
Posts: 456
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 15:24
Location: London
Contact:

Postby Olie » 27 Jan 2005, 09:44

High Byte is used only for a 8Bit channels.
Low Byte and High Byte are both used for 16Bit channels

You must always specify both though.

Most of the time I would expect the High Byte to be the same as the Low Byte.
Avolites Software Team
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 27 Jan 2005, 13:27

Thanks. That makes sense!

Is there any way to use custom curves on 'intelligents'? I assume only by editing personalities and patching dimmers over the top? Some of my movers have rubbish dimmers - everything seems to happen in the first 20%

Perhaps this could be one for the wish-list.....

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests