Varilites

For anything that doesn't belong in the other boards

Moderator: Moderators

AndrewRPage
Posts: 27
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 20:08
Location: Kidderminster

Varilites

Postby AndrewRPage » 30 Jan 2018, 11:01

I've searched but cat find anything.
I have 3 different sets of Vl's to patch each has dimmer on separate universe.
I've read the manual but that doesn't help.
If I patch the VL1000Ts 27 DMX I don't get an option to set the dimmer address.
What am I missing.

I also have VL000TI 19ch and VL500, 13ch to patch

Any guidance please.

:cry:
User avatar
Gregory
Site Admin
Posts: 1171
Joined: 14 Dec 2007, 15:25
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Varilites

Postby Gregory » 30 Jan 2018, 11:29

These are referred to in the software as Pending Dimmers. Providing the fixture personality has a pending dimmer defined, as appears to be the case with the VL1000 TS 27 DMX, all you need to do is patch the VL1000 fixture and then use the standard Patch Dimmer menu and select the same handle/button as the VL1000 fixture which is already patched.
AndrewRPage
Posts: 27
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 20:08
Location: Kidderminster

Re: Varilites

Postby AndrewRPage » 30 Jan 2018, 11:34

Ive patched them. Nothing shows "pending Dimmer" in the patch view.
But it has patched it without the dimmer and has left the first address free.

I tried just patching a dimmer yo same user No but that didnt work.

Could you explain a little more how " select the same handle/button as the VL1000 fixture which is already patched"
AndrewRPage
Posts: 27
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 20:08
Location: Kidderminster

Re: Varilites

Postby AndrewRPage » 30 Jan 2018, 11:48

Just tried a VL 500 P-Dim.
Still the same .

again its patched without the dimmer but I just cant see how to patch the dimmer on top. Ive tried using the same user number but that isnt allowed.
User avatar
Gregory
Site Admin
Posts: 1171
Joined: 14 Dec 2007, 15:25
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Varilites

Postby Gregory » 30 Jan 2018, 11:50

If you are running Titan then after patching the VL1000 fixture, either open the Patch View or the Fixtures workspace window to display the fixture then press Patch followed by softkey A Dimmers. Type in the address that you want the dimmer to be at and select either the row in the Patch View or the button in the Fixtures windows to add the dimmer to the existing fixture. In the Patch View an additional row will be shown which will have the mode of Dimmer and its address.
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4250
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Re: Varilites

Postby niclights » 30 Jan 2018, 11:52

These would be my steps from a new show which hopefully will help to understand:

- New show
- Patch 1x Varilite VL 1000, 27 DMX, TS Model
- Patch 1x Dimmer (set line/address as required) and the select the handle of the Varilite in the Fixtures window (or relevant preset button if patched to one of the preset handles on the Pearl Expert) or select the Varilite fixture in Patch View.

You can confirm the pending dimmer by pressing OPEN/VIEW followed by the Varilite fixture handle (or by pressing the relevant VIEW button in Patch View). This will open the Fixture View window with the channels for the fixture on the right-hand side. If you scroll down to the bottom you should find the dimmer and its address.

In Patch view the pending dimmer will be shown with a lightning symbol behind the user number (you may need to change the line or select the all lines filter to see this).
AndrewRPage
Posts: 27
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 20:08
Location: Kidderminster

Re: Varilites

Postby AndrewRPage » 30 Jan 2018, 11:59

Thanks both, will have a go at that.
AndrewRPage
Posts: 27
Joined: 07 Jan 2013, 20:08
Location: Kidderminster

Re: Varilites

Postby AndrewRPage » 30 Jan 2018, 12:08

Gentlemen.

Thank you we are up and running.

Easy when you know how.

:D :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests