Titan Mobile and Media Servers

For anything that doesn't belong in the other boards

Moderator: Moderators

Tallysrfr

Titan Mobile and Media Servers

Postby Tallysrfr » 03 Mar 2014, 18:04

Hi. If anyone doesn't know by now, I'm an absolute noob to lighting and programming. I'm learning quickly though, for a 46 year-old! :) I'm using a Titan Mobile and perusing the manual, and I've come across something that I don't understand. There's not a lot mentioned about media servers, but one reference was to clips from media servers being displayed as thumbnails. What does this refer to? Pictures? Video? It must use something that's patched in. I'm thinking perhaps it could be for moving projectors? Or could it use a static-mounted projector over ArtNet, like we do with PowerPoint, ProPresenter, etc.? That would be a powerful tool I could use to present a live show with controlled side projections in Titan Mobile. If that's not what it refers to, first, what does it refer to, and, second, is there another way to do what I suggested?
Thanks,
Bryan
niclights
The eManual

Re: Titan Mobile and Media Servers

Postby niclights » 03 Mar 2014, 18:26

One way to think of 'media servers' is as a video device that can be controlled by a lighting desk as if it was just another fixture.

So, yes, they would do exactly what you say.

For thumbnails to work you need to patch as an 'active fixture' and the media server needs to support thumbnails over CITP. When you have a compatible device connected over a network it will appear in the active fixtures list.

Note that media servers do not have to be patched as active fixtures. You can still patch them manually as you would any other fixture and have exactly the same degree of control. The only difference is you wouldn't get thumbnail representations of clips.