Playback roller on Pearl 2010

For anything that doesn't belong in the other boards

Moderator: Moderators

MagnusBF
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Sep 2011, 12:33

Playback roller on Pearl 2010

Postby MagnusBF » 07 Sep 2011, 12:36

Hi! =)

I've just started learning to use the Pearl 2010 and is new to the concept of using a live console.

I was wondering how you guys label your playback roller? Does anyone have a good way to do this?

And I will be really happy for all the tips you guys and girls want to share with me!

Sincerely
Magnus Furøy
Norway
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 07 Sep 2011, 13:25

White electrical tape and a sharpie?

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Some people will attach a sheet of A3 (stick at one end, roll around and fix the other end). This is useful if you're using the same show but on different consoles and need a way to transfer it.

Similarly you could print this for a neater version. If you print to acetate it will be more durable. You can also use clear tape to fix.

Is that what you meant?
MagnusBF
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Sep 2011, 12:33

Postby MagnusBF » 07 Sep 2011, 15:43

No, it was not what I ment.. But thanks for the tip though ;) I understood that I could use tape.....

I was wondering how I can place the playback features in a good order.

Is it most practical to have the 5 first faders located to control the moving heads, then the next five to control scanners and the last five to control the LED Par lamps?

And should I put movement on the first fader for movingheads, and then put color on the next two, gobo and shutter to the remaining.

I'm sorry for my bad English, but hope you understand what I mean.

-Magnus
icke_siegen
Posts: 912
Joined: 02 Jul 2010, 10:29
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Postby icke_siegen » 07 Sep 2011, 15:57

I'd say it depends from many things: the type of show, your actual lighting setup, programming habits.

If it's a big pre-programmed show, then obviously preset by preset, page by page - and it's a good habit to spare the last 2~4 presets during programming (for copying, moving etc.). Additionally, you might want some standard presets: e,g, quite often just something which puts all movers' dimmers onto a fader; for some reason I'm used to put those on fader 15.

It might be completely different on a pre-programmed concert tour (for the sake of simplicity: 1 roller facet per song)

But again, it'll very much depend from your show and your habits
Dennis
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 01:02
Location: New Zealand

PEARL Playback Roller

Postby Dennis » 03 Oct 2012, 08:22

Im new to the Pearl, and loving it so far, But When I playback a scene on Roller position A then want to add a scene from Roller position B, it cancels the position A scene, Is there any way I can add or mix scenes from different roller positions.
Dennis. Pearl 2010
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 03 Oct 2012, 11:03

Not if they are on the same playback fader.
Dennis
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 01:02
Location: New Zealand

Postby Dennis » 03 Oct 2012, 11:09

Yes but can I mix fader 1 on roller A with fader 2 on roller B.
Dennis. Pearl 2010
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 03 Oct 2012, 11:18

Yes absolutely.
Dennis
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 01:02
Location: New Zealand

Postby Dennis » 03 Oct 2012, 11:41

Ok thanks.. Maybe I'm in the wrong mode or something, because when I touch a fader on another roller position, all the other values go to zero accept the fader I use.
Any clues.?
And thanks for your help.
Dennis. Pearl 2010
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 03 Oct 2012, 11:57

Are they just dimmer (intensity) values or something more complex?
Dennis
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 01:02
Location: New Zealand

Postby Dennis » 03 Oct 2012, 12:10

Usually a mix of dimmer values and moving light scenes.. should i have all my dimmer values on a different roller than position values..
Dennis. Pearl 2010
User avatar
niclights
The eManual
Posts: 4243
Joined: 24 Sep 2004, 01:06
Location: UK

Postby niclights » 03 Oct 2012, 18:50

No, I'm just trying to understand what the problem might be.

If values are LTP (ie. position etc.) then last playback will take precedence regardless of whether it is on a different page or not. But intensity should mix as highest values take precedence just fine. I can't think of any reason why this would not be the case.

Try this:

- Record a dimmer to roller page A-1, playback 1
- Clear
- Record a different dimmer to roller page B-1, playback 2
- Clear
- Fire playback 1 on roller page A-1
- Fire playback 2 on roller page B-1

You should see both dimmers.
Dennis
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 01:02
Location: New Zealand

Postby Dennis » 03 Oct 2012, 19:03

Sounds so simple, I'll have the desk out today, I will try it again and see what happens.
Thank you. :D
Dennis. Pearl 2010

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest